List of members

ENNHRI has a membership of 44 NHRIs from across wider Europe, including Ombuds Institutions, Human Rights Commissions and Institutes. Our members have a diversity of mandates and national contexts. They are committed to working together to promote and protect human rights.

ENNHRI Members

Country National Human Rights Institution (link to institution website) Accreditation
1 Albania People’s Advocate (Avokati i Popullit) A
2 Armenia Human Rights Defender Institution of the Republic of Armenia A
3 Austria Austrian Ombudsman Board (Volksanwaltschaft) B
4 Azerbaijan The Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights (Ombudsman) of the Republic of Azerbaijan B
5 Belgium Interfederal Centre for Equal Opportunities (UNIA) B
6 Belgium Federal Migration Centre (MYRIA) NA
7 Belgium Service de lutte contre la pauvreté, la précarité et l’exclusion sociale NA
8 Bosnia and Herzegovina Ombudsmen of Bosnia and Herzegovina A
9 Bulgaria The Ombudsman of the Republic of Bulgaria B
10 Croatia Office of the Ombudswoman of the Republic of Croatia A
11 Cyprus Office of the Commissioner for Administration and Human rights B
12 Czech Republic The Public Defender of Rights NA
13 Denmark Danish Institute for Human Rights A
14 Estonia Chancellor for Justice of Estonia NA
15 Finland Human Rights Centre and the Parliamentary Ombudsman A
16 France Commission Nationale Consultative des Droits de l’Homme (CNCDH) A
17 Georgia Office of Public Defender of Georgia A
18 Germany German Institute for Human Rights A
19 Great Britain Equality and Human Rights Commission A
20 Greece Greek National Commission for Human Rights A
21 Hungary Office of the Commissioner for Fundamental Rights A
22 Ireland Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission A
23 Kosovo* Ombudsperson Institution of Kosovo NA
24 Latvia Ombudsman’s Office of the Republic of Latvia A
25 Lithuania The Seimas Ombudsmen’s Office of the Republic of Lithuania A
26 Luxembourg Commission Consultative des Droits de l’Homme du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg A
27 Macedonia (FYROM) Ombudsman Institution of the Republic of Macedonia B
28 Moldova People’s Advocate of the Republic of Moldova A
29 Montenegro Protector of Human Rights and Freedoms of Montenegro B
30 Netherlands Netherlands Institute for Human Rights A
31 Northern Ireland Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission A
32 Norway Norwegian National Human Rights Institution A
33 Poland Human Rights Defender of Poland A
34 Portugal Portuguese Ombudsman (Provedor de Justicia) A
35 Romania Romanian Institute for Human Rights NA
36 Russian Federation High Commissioner for Human Rights of the Russian Federation A
37 Scotland Scottish Human Rights Commission A
38 Serbia The Protector of Citizens of the Republic of Serbia A
39 Slovakia Slovak National Centre for Human Rights B
40 Slovenia Human Rights Ombudsman B
41 Spain Defensor del Pueblo A
42 Sweden The Equality Ombudsman B
43 Turkey Human Rights and Equality Institution of Turkey NA
44 Ukraine Office of the Ukrainian Parliament Commissioner for Human Rights A

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSC 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence